Babies need to cry to exercise their lungs? Really?

I have just spent a whole hour Googling for research into this long-standing old-wives tale, and I have found nothing whatsoever to back it up. I did, however, find that this ‘advice’ is actually still being given, not just by ‘old wives’ but by actual books that are still in actual bookshops! I give you Parenting for Dummies. And I also found an article by a paediatric psychologist, no less, Dr Lynne Kenney, who says that not only does it exercise the lungs, but crying also helps babies to maintain their eye health!

Isn't this photograph beautiful!

I know what they say about assuming things, but I do believe that most of the people reading this blog do actually know that this little gem is a load of rubbish, but sometimes it’s nice to know why so we can tell any ‘old wives’ why we’re ignoring their advice, should they deign to impress it upon us.

There are always times in a Western baby’s life when it is better for her to be left to cry than not. In more natural cultures, babies arecarried all the time, and rarely cry. If mum isn’t available, or is too ill/tired/fed up to hold her baby, then there are always plenty of other adults around to share some of the work.

In our culture, however, we get too tired/fed up to hold our babies rather a lot sooner, simply because we are forced, by the way our society works, to parent in isolation. When it gets to the point that you are so angry you fear you may do something awful, then it is far safer for you to put your baby in another room and let her cry while you have five minutes to try to access what emotional reserves you can find. Or to call a friend to come and share the day with you.

In general, though, it appears that prolonged crying is actually very bad for babies. Actually, I’ll be more specific here. It’s prolonged, uncomforted distress that is bad for babies. Being left to do this over and over again can actually cause changes in their brains that can cause them to overreact to situations for the rest of their lives. Dr Margot Sunderland calls it an over-sensitive stress-response system in her book: What Every Parent Needs to Know.

Truby King

So, if it’s so bad for babies, what’s the history of the ‘it’s good for babies to cry’ myth? Well, I thought, initially, that it was the…ahem…delightful Dr Truby King (I refuse to apologise for linking to Wikipedia – sometimes the stuff’s good, and as long as you know that, like anything, it may need to be taken with a pinch of salt, then it’s actually quite a useful resource! Anyway, I digress…).

It turns out that he wasn’t the first person to posit this theory, and that it was probably Soranus of Ephesus , the Greek physician who, in the 2nd century AD suggested that crying was helpful exercise for the respiratory and digestive systems (9th para), but he did clarify that persistent crying could cause physical harm.

In 1908, a Dr Holt wrote, in his book The Care and Feeding of Children, that newborns should cry for at least 15-20 minutes every day to expand the lungs. Truby King’s advice came a few years after that. Neither of these writers ever produced any scientific evidence for their guidelines for parenting babies.

I think we can safely say those guidelines can be entirely disregarded and, as there actually is scientific evidence for the opposing idea of not letting babies cry any longer than we have to, it shouldn’t be too difficult to persuade any ‘old wives’ you come across that their advice is, well, ill-advised.

28 thoughts on “Babies need to cry to exercise their lungs? Really?

  1. I read some research once about this, they studied babies who were left to cry and how it affected their brains.( I can’t remember what it was, my sister will know). But this makes me cross (ha, it ALL makes me cross!) At what point do babies/children become ‘people’? If we had a friend who was crying, would we walk away? Would we tell them that it’s good for their lungs to cry, that their emotions are not yet valid?
    I had lots of people tell me that I was ‘making a rod for my own back’ by not leaving Laura to cry. One relative said to me “She’s got you wrapped around her little finger, she knows that if she cries you’ll go to her.” Yes! She does, that’s the idea, I want her to know that. I don’t want her to feel alone and desperate. She is now 10 and an amazingly well-balanced child who has the confidence to go out and explore the world knowing that she is loved and that I am there for her. She’s not clingy or insecure.
    I remember being quite young and crying in my bed, I obviously wasn’t a baby but young enough to feel confused and scared. I didn’t understand why I was crying for my mum but she wasn’t coming. I had nightmares for a long time about my mum being taken away from me and I when I had my own children I knew that I never wanted them to feel like that.
    We need to start accepting that the way we behave towards our children in the first few years has a long lasting effect on them as people and, inevitably, on our society.
    Rant over. And I haven’t even had breakfast yet!!

    • There is so much research into this, Tracy, it’s so awful that the ‘leave your baby to cry’ thing is still being heard, and not just by kindly relatives who were told it as fact when they were parents of babies. It’s easier to not take such advice to heart when you know the facts, though, I think. It’s often much harder when you’re just pitching your own instincts against what everyone is telling you.

  2. I think we’ve forgotten how to listen to our instincts and are floundering a bit. Also, a lot of us are having children later and are used to having complete control over our lives. This is how we’re brought up and so to suddenly have this tiny person making demands on us that we can’t rationalise can be very hard.

    • I think you’re right. And I have a mahoosive blog post up my sleeve about the insidious nature of disempowerment and what that means for parents, children and, consequently, society as a whole…

  3. Thanks for the post Clare.
    I think we are also told that it’s alright to leave babies to cry because it doesn’t mean anything ( I was told this): babies just cry. I’m sure if I had been told that it wasn’t normal for a baby to scream for hours at a time I would have worked out that my son had food intolerance sooner.

  4. Great post, Clare, and a very upsetting subject. There are a lot of potentially dangerous old wives tales out there still, that are being passed down the generations.
    Babies that are left to cry can eventually stop not because they’ve learnt to ‘be good’ but because they’ve given up and closed off. My father was adopted at 8 months old and my grandmother said he was considered a ‘good baby’ because he never cried. You can only guess what his first 8 months were like :(
    It breaks my heart and like Tracy makes me cross that new mums can be forced by dominating relatives to squash their natural instinct to comfort. Very cross in fact.

  5. It’s a ridiculous tip. As much as finding upsetting to hear babies crying, especially that really distressed type of cry, when it was one of my own babies, the sound of them crying would cause me physical pain *. It definitely stressed me out. I found the best way was to try and comfort them, which meant finding out why they were crying in the first place. There is always a reason. Which is why ignoring the crying is ridiculous, and I agree with the comments above, that advice makes me cross too.

    * This next bit is for lady parents only. If you’re breastfeeding and you hear your baby crying, you know what happens… how can you possibly ignore that??

      • A baby’s cry is designed to reach a part of it’s mother’s brain that makes it difficult to ignore, it’s an evolutionary thing, it’s how they survive, along with waking and feeding every few hours. Children are hard work, there is no easy way and you have to put the hard work in, everything has a consequence. If I cry (which happens a lot…a sad advert, the last Tracy beaker episode, The railway children etc etc etc) I need a hug, I’m not manipulating you into anything, I’m upset I need comfort, why should babies be any different.

        • The trouble is that the advice that tells parents that it’s actually bad for babies to be picked up when they cry has been such a huge part of our culture for such a long time now, that it’s very, very difficult to move away from that. It’ll be quite some time before that will be reversed, I think.

  6. People used to think babies cried at baptisms because the devil was coming out. I’ve never had a baby cry at a baptism but it might be because I don’t think babies are evil! (although their nappies are sometimes).

  7. Great post indeed and very close to my own heart with my brand new 16 day old babe on the boob. It does my head in the way babies are meant to conform. The only time my little man cries is when I change his nappy, otherwise the slightest squeak and he’s in arms where he belongs. Having one of those can’t get him off the boob days today in fact. House is a mess, but it can just stay like that. He won’t be this little and needy for ever after all :-)

    • Hi Doris. No, it all goes far too quickly, doesn’t it! I think people are led to believe that their children will never become independent, though, if you don’t push them towards it as quickly as possible. The record needs to be set straight.

  8. Good post, so true. Yet why is is alway me who feels like a failure, or that I have to explain myself to people because I didn’t leave my baby to cry to sleep, like I wasn’t ‘strong’ enough or something. “you just need to put your foot down with her” my mum used to say about my non-sleeping baby. However having had a crap sleeper I do sympathise with people who have on occasion had to leave the baby to cry, not because they think it is the right thing to do, or because someone has told them they should, but because they are at breaking point and out of options. Been there :(

  9. Pingback: Confidence Interval | Rise v4

  10. Pingback: Is crying in arms as bad for babies as crying alone? « Free Your Parenting

  11. I agree. When in hospital I also see that crying babies’ Oxygen saturation drop a LOT, so there’s really no reason to leave them to cry. Also, not to be disrespectful to Dr Kenney, but I don’t think that psychologists should attempt to give medical advice. Just my opinion.

      • I have recently become a grandmother for the second time and have given my daughter-in-law a few nuggets of maternal wisdom, among them the advice never to leave her baby to cry. The important thing is never to allow them to get into the habit of prolonged crying.
        I can honestly say that in the first nine months of my first baby’s life she never really cried, because I picked her up at the first whimper. The first real crying came at nine months because she caught a heavy cold and was in a lot of discomfort from it. She was a contented, smiley baby and grew into an intelligent , well -adjusted adult., as have my two sons, although to be honest the boys didn’t always get the undivided attention my daughter enjoyed.
        At 72 years of age, I suppose I could be considered an ‘old wife’ but I certainly don’t peddle old wives tales.
        I would say to any first-time mum- yes, be grateful for advice, if it comes from experienced mums-it can be tremendously assuring-, but don’t take all of it as gospel .

Leave a comment